Angelina Jolie Carves Out New Role as Kay Scarpetta

I used to read Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta series back in the ’90s until it started going downhill. After that major thing with Benton, I felt they became unreadable and Scarpetta just wasn’t fun to spend time with anymore. The woman became so dour.

angelina-jolie-hair1234916401But my interest is now piqued again because Variety reports that Angelina Jolie will play Scarpetta in a possible franchise for Fox 2000. Whoa, Nelly, this makes the coroner way sexier than she was described in the books but I like Jolie’s work and she has that dark side that will be appropriate for a character who mostly deals with dead people. Jolie also has an arresting screen presence so hopefully she’ll make Scarpetta appealing again. I certainly think she’s a better choice than Demi Moore, who was widely rumored to be the front-runner for the role when Columbia had the rights in 1992.

Any Patricia Cornwell fans out there? How do you feel about Jolie embodying the author’s most famous creation?

6 responses to “Angelina Jolie Carves Out New Role as Kay Scarpetta

  1. I read the first two books, then gave up on her. If I remember correctly I was turned off because in one of the books the character “who done it” wasn’t introduced until the last third or fourth of the book.

    • I hate when that happens, Eddy—the culprit gets intro’d about 10 pages from the end and we have no idea who they are. Aaaack!

  2. I’ve only read one – you know me, not too good with the gory, grisley stuff, so though I enjoyed it in a way, one was enough. But I love the idea of Angelina Jolie in that role – nothing like the picture I have in my head of Scarpetta, but if they want to turn up the heat, what a way to do it.

    • I’m not good with gore, either, ShelleyP—no Saw for me! If the main characters and the plot are really compelling, I might power through the grisly stuff with one eye open but Scarpetta became mirthless so I lost interest.

  3. Same here. I stopped reading Scarpetta novels after that totally unbelievable Benton thing, but I do look forward to seeing Jolie in the role of Scarpetta. Can’t think of a better choice.

  4. I gave them a chance to woo me by reading the first 3. Lost interest in them, but I will buy a ticket for the movie if Angelina is in them.

Leave a Reply

